Braised ox cheek with flageolet beans and turnips a la Valentine Warner

I wanted to start off easy for my first offal challenge and ox cheek seemed the easiest way to begin. The warming stew recipe I found in Valentine Warner’s The Good Table.

And where did I buy the ox cheek? Well Mr Warner was very helpful, suggesting Waitrose for supplying a “forgotten cuts” range. Not only did they sell the ox cheek, but as a cheaper cut, it was only £11 for 1.5kg – a bargain! That came to four of these cheeks, which easily fed 8 (including 6 boys) and we still had leftovers for the next day #winning

20140116-210949.jpg

This was actually a pretty easy recipe, as long as you’ve got time to hang around while it cooks. It actually worked quite well for me so in between stages I could lay the table, tidy and get ready for my guests to arrive. Clearly it’s not a weeknight recipe, needing about 4 hours prep and cooking time, but it really is a joy to cook on a lazy Saturday afternoon.

The only criticism of the recipe I had was it said to deglaze the pan with red wine after frying the ox cheek, but it didn’t say what to do with the wine afterwards. I added it to the casserole dish, obvs, but if Val needs someone to double-check his recipes for his, I’m the gal for the job 🙂

So the question then turned to what to serve for starter and dessert. Dessert was easy – I now have a go-to pan a cotta with Baileys. This is a geniusly simple recipe from Gino d’Acampo’s Italian Escape cookbook, which accompanied the ITV series. As long as you hold your nerve when making the caramel, although don’t hold your nerve for too long! The first time I made it I had to chuck the first attempt and then google “how to get burnt caramel off a saucepan”. The answer? Hot water and baking soda. Anyway, slightly tricky caramel aside, this is a sinch and your family, guests and anyone you’re trying to impress, will love you for it.

20140116-215852.jpg

The really big question was what should I make for starter? As the ox cheek was being served with wasabi mash (genius), I didn’t want anything too heavy to start the meal. Shellfish! Prawns! Some of you will recall my oneshellfishamonth challenge in 2012. Back then, I made tandoori prawns. This time, it was with a chilli and white cabbage salad from Jaime Oliver. This was delicious, but the issue was that the prawns were meant to “cook” in the lemon juice, but after 45 minutes (it was meant to take 15-20), we gave up as the natives were getting restless and we cooked them in the griddle pan. Still very delicious!

20140116-222304.jpg

And the ox cheek turned out pretty amazing too, it had really broken down and melted in your mouth…..totally yummy and definitely something I want to cook again and again.

20140116-221259.jpg

And the pan a cotta turned out pretty amazingly too. I made one big one rather than individual ramekins coz I didn’t have enough for 8 of us. I also used fresh vanilla pods rather than essence because I found it better with the pod when I’ve don’t taste comparisons for this recipe. But it’s still pretty relish either way!

20140116-221640.jpg

So what’s next? Not sure, maybe (ox) tail, maybe…..heart?! And I need to fix a date. Roll on February!

Leave a comment